The town of Shamokin enjoyed little more than a nominal existence until 1838, when the western section of the Danville and Pottsville Railroad were completed.
Operational industries made thier debut. A machine shop and foundry were placed in operation, and the erection of dwelling houses recieved a quickening impulse. The small town of Shamokin had reached the proportions of a small village in 1839.
Sunbury St. (which nearly coincided with the course of Old Reading Rd.) was opened throughout it's whole extent. Shamokin St. was passable from Sunbury St. to the intersection of Clay and Spurzheim Sts.
Most of the remainder of the town plat was covered with a dense growth of timber, the creek pursued a winding course, and on it's banks the underbrush was almost impenetrable.
One catholic church and a one-story school building constituted the conviences for religion and education for this small town.
Now all of these names and occupations of all the people mentioned above were recalled by a very elderly man in 1891. His name was Daniel C. Smink, and at the time he was the oldest resident of Shamokin. He even knew where each family lived! Of course he didn't mention any women or children, because at that time he probably only talked to the male figures of the households. Now on to the rest of Shamokin's History!!